# Scattergood Friends School School Committee Meeting Open Session Minutes November 13, 2021

conducted via Zoom

## **Mission Statement**

Scattergood Friends School challenges students with a college-preparatory curriculum, farm experience, a shared work program, and community living in the spirit of Quaker faith.

**Present:** Matthew Gillespie, David Wilcox, Nancy Jordan, Roy Helm (assistant clerk), Ruth Hampton (clerk), Linda Corbin-Pardee, Laël Gatewood (recording clerk), Alex Lippitt, Charlie Johnson 2nd half, Matt Zisk 2nd half

Regrets: Aaron Woolfson, George Bergus, Kent Tjossem

From the School: John Zimmerman

Guest: Chi Achebe

We began at 9:30 am CST with silent worship, and out of the silence the clerk shared the following.

"I am no longer accepting the things I cannot change. I am changing the things I cannot accept."
— Angela Y. Davis

#### **Announcements:**

-The school is working on a Venmo option for donations but it is not a simple add-on that can happen quickly. Therefore, for the foreseeable future, only the current donation options are to be used.

-The Human Relations (HR) subcommittee will conduct the Head of School evaluation survey in December. Different surveys will be filled out by staff, the student body and the School Committee.

## Agenda:

The School Committee received the bimonthly reports from the subcommittees without discussion. Thanks to the staff for providing these comprehensive reports on current School operations.

Head of School John Zimmerman presented for discussion the update on his Rolling Five Year Plan for Scattergood. The School Committee reviewed and approved the general direction of John Zimmerman's 2021 Rolling Five Year Plan for Scattergood Friends School, including the greater focus on institutional sustainability.

After a period of silence, the clerk closed the open session at 10:35 am. There was no closed session, and the committee meeting adjourned early to initiate the SC workshop on topics related to Diversity, Equity and Inclusivity (DEI) conducted by Chi Achebe.

### **Minutes**:

Minute1: We approve the minutes, open and closed, from our School Committee meeting on September 25, 2021.

Minute2: We approve John Zimmerman, Kim Jones and Ethan Huelskamp to transact business on behalf of Scattergood Friends School with the Community Foundation of Johnson County.

Minute3: We approve Eric Stakland as a new co-opted (at-large) School Committee member.

Respectfully,

Laël Gatewood, Recording Clerk

Next meetings: January 15, March 19, May 6-7, July 26 (the Tuesday of IYMC annual session)